Monday, November 9, 2009

Tommy West fired by Memphis

As you may have heard, Memphis has fired Tommy West as its head football coach. Don't worry, the award will remain the Tommy West Award.

What we would like to announce is that Tommy West has been granted an honorary lifetime achievement award for his contributions to the field of poor clock management. Congratulations Coach West!!!

Sunday, January 11, 2009

More New Awards for 2009

1. Thom Brennaman Award
2. Andy Reid Award

The "Brenny" will go to the announcer who is the biggest embarrassment to his sport, regardless of what sport he covers. The "Andy" is the NFL version of the "Tommy."

Thursday, January 1, 2009

And the Tommy West Award goes to....

...Sylvester Croom of Mississippi State. A full news release will be forthcoming.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

New Awards for 2009

The Tommy West Award Foundation is proud to announce five new awards for the 2009 College Football season:

1. Dirk Koetter Award
2. Joe Paterno Award
3. Randy Shannon Award
4. Stewart-Swinney Award
5. Brian Brohm Award

The Dirk Koetter Award will be given to the coach who makes the worst single Tommy West Award criteria mistake of the season. It his named for his decision to punt the ball with 1:28 left and only two time outs remaining down by 7 points.

The Joe Paterno Award goes to the coach who shows the least comprehension of the rules of College Football. The award is in his honor due to his decision not to force Michigan to attempt the extra point after scoring a touchdown on the final play to take a two point lead over Penn State, even though Penn State could still force overtime if it blocked the extra point and returned it for a two-point score.

The Randy Shannon Award is, simply put, the Tommy West Award of the bowl season. Watch the 2008 Emerald Bowl and you will understand why it is named for him.

The Stewart-Swinney Award is given to the school who makes the most dumbfounded hire of the year. It is co-named for Bill Stewart of West Virginia and Dabo Swinney of Clemson. The alternate name of the award is the Shannon-Stewart-Swinney Award, but since there already is a Randy Shannon Award, it has been truncated to its current form.

Finally, the Brian Brohm Award will be given to the senior quarterback who is the most inept at running the two-minute drill. Why it is named for him should be self-explanatory.

Sunday, December 7, 2008

Tommy West Award Finalists

The Tommy West Award Foundation is proud to announce the following five coaches as finalists for the 2008 Award:

Sylvester Croom - Mississippi State
Randy Edsall - Connecticut
Rick Neuheisel - UCLA
Bobby Petrino - Arkansas
Mike Riley - Oregon State

Friday, October 3, 2008

The Second Annual Tommy West Award

The Second Annual Tommy West Award will be awarded to the Division 1-A/Football Bowl Subdivision head coach deemed by the Tommy West Award Foundation to have exhibited the worst late-game management over the course of the 2008 regular season.

The coaches chosen by the committee as finalists will be notified via press release on Monday, December 8 and the winner will be announced on January 1, 2009 on's "Poor Man PTI."

Please direct all inquiries to

The Tommy West Award Foundation